FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Terrence Ates Public Information Officer (903) 343 - 5451



NOMINATIONS WELCOMED FOR W. T. "DOC" BALLARD AWARD

Tyler, Texas (April 30, 2024)

The Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health) announces that nominations are now being accepted for the 2024 W.T. "Doc" Ballard Award for Excellence in Public Health. This 25th annual award will honor an individual or organization exemplifying the concept of public health distinguished by protecting and promoting the health of the community.

This award is NET Health's highest accolade for outstanding service contributing significantly to the enhancement of Public Health. Previous recipients of this award are:

2000 – Luther Yates	2012 – Harold Higgins
2001 – Brenda Elrod	2013 – Kirk A. Calhoun, M.D.
2002 – Richard J. "Dick" De Santo	2014 – Barbara Bass
2003 – Susan Bennett, R.D.	2015 – Paul McGaha, D.O.
2004 – David Knowles, M.D.	2016 – Thomas A. Lowery, M.D.
2005 – Keith McCoy, Ph.D.	2017 - David L. Lakey, M.D.
2006 – John English, M.D.	2018 – Jeffrey Levin, M.D.
2007 – Bennie Webster, Ed.D.	2019 - Valerie Smith, M.D.
2007 – Marvin Ellis	2020 – Jeffrey Levin, M.D.
2008 – Robert Westbrook	2020 – Bruce Carter, M.D.
2009 – Jonathan MacClements, M.D.	2021 – Nathaniel Moran
2010 – Ben Bridges, M.D.	2021 – Don Warren
2010 – Reverend Ralph Caraway, Sr.	2021 – UT Tyler School of Pharmacy
2011 – Dave Berry	2022 – Mark Scirto, Jay Brooks, and David Coble

As a charter member of the NET Health Board of Directors, "Doc" served as a key figure in the formation and establishment of the Health District. He continued his service as Chairman of the Board and was an active member of many professional organizations dedicated to improving the quality of Public Health. Both professionally and personally, "Doc" worked hard to help both the citizens of Northeast Texas and the entire state of Texas.

The nominee does not need to be a Public Health professional. Services provided by the nominee may be in the area of civic, cultural, health, welfare, or philanthropic endeavors.

Examples of the areas of public health service may include but are not limited to:

- Environmental Health/Food Safety
- Public Health Nursing
- Nutrition
- Public Health Programs/Administration
- Public Health Engineering
- Health Promotion
- Water Hygiene
- Preventive Health & Education

Judges for the selection of the award will include two members of the NET Health Board of Directors, the Chief Executive Officer of NET Health, one representative from the Texas Department of State Health Services Region 4/5N, one representative of the Smith County AgriLife Extension Office, and NET Health's Director of the Environmental Health Department.

Nominations for this award may be made either by an individual or an organization. The following items are required for all nominations:

- 1. The nomination letter should include a description of why the nominee is deserving of this award. Descriptions should be specific and concise (250 words or less) and should demonstrate the nominee's work to create a positive impact on the health of the public.
- 2. The nomination must be mailed to the below address:

NET Health Attention: W.T. "Doc" Ballard Award 315 N. Broadway, Suite 404, Tyler, TX 75702.

- 3. A one-page biographical sketch (or vitae) of the nominee.
- 4. No more than 5 supporting documents (letters of support, journal, articles, etc.)
- 5. One 4" X 5" photograph of the nominee.

All nominations must be received by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, May 31, 2024.

This year's honoree will be announced at the NET Health Board meeting on Thursday, June 27, 2024. Thank you for your interest and support of Public Health.

For more information, please contact George Roberts, NET Health CEO, at (903) 535 - 0036.

Visit us at MyNETHealth.org. "Like" us on Facebook and "Follow" us on Instagram.